Checked October 26, 2026. Prices were read on each vendor's own pricing page. Several child care tools (Brightwheel, Procare, Playground) do not publish a price; we say so rather than guess. Prices change: re-check before you buy. Dooza Crew is our product and our top pick for small centers; we say why, and where the others fit better.
Best AI tools for daycares: the short answer
Our top pick for a small daycare or child care center is Dooza Crew: AI employees that answer the phone, chase tour leads, and draft the emails and forms that pile up after the children go home, $49 a month for the whole organization, and they ask before they send anything. If you want AI inside your child care software, check Brightwheel, Procare or Daily Connect first. For an AI built for child care inquiry calls, Playground. For a stand-alone phone line, Goodcall.
How many child care teachers use AI in 2026
Procare Solutions' 2026 Child Care Business Trends Report press release (March 4, 2026) says: "39% say they now use AI tools, a 77% increase from last year’s report."
Two cautions. The respondents are teachers, not directors or front-office staff, and Procare sells child care software, so it has an interest in the answer. Still, the direction is clear. The directors who get the most from AI start in the office, not the classroom: inquiry calls that go to voicemail during drop-off, tour leads that go quiet, and enrollment paperwork in the evening. The tools below cover those.
AI tools for daycares compared
| Tool | What the AI does | Price (vendor page, Oct 26) | Free option |
| Dooza Crew (ours, top pick) | AI employees that answer calls, draft follow-ups, fill forms | $49/mo per organization, unlimited users and agents, AI usage included | 7 days free (card required) |
| Brightwheel | Built-in AI assistant on your program's data | Not published (request pricing) | Demo |
| Procare RoomRunner | AI enrollment forecasting and recommendations | Not published (request a demo) | Demo only |
| Daily Connect | Child care app with an AI Assistant and Enrollment AI | Professional $16/mo billed annually, 10 children included, then $1.60 per child | 14-day free trial, no card |
| Playground (Camber) | AI employee that answers inquiry calls | Not published (free demo) | Demo only |
| Goodcall | AI phone answering | $79, $129 or $299 a month | Free demo agent |
| Smith.ai | Human receptionists, answered 24/7 | $300/mo for 30 calls | 30-day money-back guarantee |
| Fathom | AI notes for video calls | Premium from $16/user/mo | Free forever plan |
| Otter | AI meeting notes and chat | Pro $16.99/user/mo | Free Basic plan |
1. Dooza Crew (our product, top pick): AI employees for the front office
Most small centers lose enrollments in the gaps: a call you could not take during drop-off, a family who toured and never heard back, a stack of forms waiting for the evening. Crew gives your company AI employees, each with its own computer and browser and its own job. They work around the clock, work with your team in one chat, and pass work to each other. Before one sends an email or clicks Send, Submit or Pay, it asks you to Approve, Edit or Reject.
Example jobs you could give it: you could give one agent the job of answering the phone and taking a message from every family who asks about openings or a tour; another the job of drafting a friendly follow-up to every family who toured and has gone quiet, for you to approve; another the job of filling a fillable PDF or Word form you upload, such as an enrollment form or a staff schedule sheet. Crew works in web-based tools you log in to with a browser, and you type passwords and 2FA codes yourself.
- Forms: it fills fillable PDF, Word and Excel files you upload. Scanned PDFs without form fields cannot be filled.
- Phones: Crew agents take phone calls too, included in the plan.
- Price: free for 7 days (card required), then $49 a month for the whole organization (unlimited users and agents), AI usage included with a hard spending cap. At the cap it pauses and tells you.
- Watch for: it is not a caregiver and does not supervise or care for children. No child care software (such as Brightwheel or Procare) is certified or integrated with it, so it does not sync with your child care system; it works only in web tools you log in to. Safety, ratios, licensing and decisions about a child stay with you.
Try Dooza Crew free for 7 days.
2. Brightwheel: an AI assistant inside the child care app
Brightwheel is the child care app many centers already use. Its site says "Brightwheel AI is your built-in assistant." It also says it "spots what needs your attention, answers what you ask, and takes on more of the routine work over time."
3. Procare RoomRunner: AI for enrollment planning
Procare is long-established child care software. Its RoomRunner product is described as "Procare’s AI-powered child care enrollment management software that shows what’s happening across your center now, predicts what’s coming and recommends what to do next." It also says it "forecasts openings, identifies child care enrollment gaps and recommends which children to move, and when, based on age, availability and capacity."
- Price: not published; you request a demo.
- Free trial: not stated.
- Watch for: it plans enrollment; it does not decide who gets a seat or check licensing for you.
4. Daily Connect: low-cost child care software with AI features
Daily Connect covers parent communication, daily reports, attendance and staff management. Its pricing page lists an "AI Assistant" among the features, and its menu has "Enrollment AI" and "Smart Assistant"; the page does not describe in a sentence what the AI Assistant does, so ask for a demo.
- Price: "Professional $16 /month" billed annually, with 10 children included, then $1.60 per child. Family daycares are $8.99 a month (3 children max) and $12.99 a month (6 children max). The page says "we'll never charge any setup, overage, or cancellation fees."
- Free trial: "New users can try Daily Connect free of charge for 14 Days" with no credit card needed.
- Watch for: pricing is per enrolled child, and the vendor gives little detail on the AI.
5. Playground (Camber): an AI employee for child care inquiries
Playground is child care management software with an AI layer called Camber. Its page says "Camber is an AI employee for child care that answers inquiry calls, supports your staff, and handles the daily admin work" and that "Camber answers inquiry calls, transcribes and summarizes every conversation, creates leads in your CRM, and forecasts future openings."
- Price: not published; the pricing page is a demo form.
- Free trial: not stated.
- Watch for: it is embedded in Playground, so you need its management software, and the price is demo-only.
6. Goodcall: AI phone answering with a free demo agent
Goodcall builds an AI agent for your business line. Its pricing page says "Start free with a demo agent. Add a number when you're ready."
7. Smith.ai: human receptionists, not AI-only
Smith.ai sells "Professional call answering by real people—trained in your field, fluent in your workflows, available 24/7." It is here for centers that want a person on the line for parent inquiries.
- Price: "30 calls $300 / month"; 90 calls $810 a month; 300 calls $2,100 a month. Overage is $11.50 per call over 30.
- Free trial: none; all plans include a 30-day money-back guarantee.
- Watch for: priced per call, so a busy enrollment season gets expensive, and it is not child care-specific.
8. Fathom: free AI notes for owner and staff calls
Fathom records and summarizes video calls. Its free plan has "Unlimited recordings, instant call summaries, integrations with LLMs & more." Useful for board calls, vendor reviews and staff meetings held on video.
- Price: "Free forever." Premium shows $20 and $16 per user per month (the page does not label which is annual), so budget from $16.
- Free trial: paid plans have a free trial and a 90-day guarantee.
- Watch for: video calls only, not the front-desk phone line or in-person parent conferences.
9. Otter: AI meeting notes and chat
Otter transcribes meetings on Zoom, Microsoft Teams and Google Meet and lets you ask questions across them. Its pricing page lists "AI Chat within and across meetings."
- Price: Basic is free with 300 monthly transcription minutes; Pro is "$16 .99 /user/month" (about $8.49 per user per month on the discounted line, shown as "save 50%").
- Free trial: "Start for free."
- Watch for: the free plan caps minutes, and it is built for meetings, not child care.
Free AI tools and trials for daycares
- Call notes: Fathom's free forever plan; Otter's free Basic plan.
- AI phone line: Goodcall's free demo agent, until you connect a number.
- Trials: Daily Connect 14 days (no card), Dooza Crew 7 days (card required).
How to choose an AI tool for your daycare
- Start with the leak. Missed inquiry calls, tour leads that go quiet, enrollment paperwork, or staff admin. Pick the one that costs you the most enrollments.
- Check your child care software first. If you already pay for Brightwheel, Procare or Daily Connect, ask what AI is built in before buying a second tool. Dooza Crew and the phone tools do not integrate with them.
- Count children and callers. Daily Connect is priced per child, Goodcall per unique caller, Smith.ai per call; Dooza Crew is a flat monthly price for the whole organization.
- Keep sign-off human. Pick tools that ask before they send, and keep safety, ratios, licensing and anything about a child with your staff.
- Test on one job for a couple of weeks before you route every call to a bot.
Comparing phone answering alone? See the best AI receptionists.
Try Dooza Crew
A lead AI agent plus helper agents that browse the web, write files and ask you before they send or pay. 7-day free trial (card required), then $49/month with AI usage included and a hard spending cap.